Faculty Awards: The Lamar Williamson Prize for Faculty Excellence

The Lamar Williamson Prize for Faculty Excellence provides a cash award to one outstanding faculty member each year and a permanent silver prize cup. The faculty member is chosen each year by a committee and then is asked to present a publishable paper at a public convocation. Past recipients of the award are the following:

Roberta Bustin

J. Paul Smith Professor of Chemistry (1980)

Terrell Tebbetts

W. C. Brown, Jr., Professor of English (1981)

George Lankford

Pauline M. and Brooks Bradley Professor in the Social Sciences (1982)

Dorothy Landis Gray

Jean Brown Professor of Music (1983)

Jane Bush Fagg

Professor of History (1984)

Daniel W. Fagg, Jr.

Paul M. McCain Professor of History (1985)

Donald V. Weatherman

John D. Trimble, Sr., Professor of Political Philosophy (1986)

Bert E. Holmes

W.C. Brown, Sr., Distinguished Professor of Chemistry (1987)

Ann A. Rhodes

Professor of Psychology (1988)

Edward N. Mosley

Professor of Mathematics (1989)

Robert K. Holyer

W. Lewis McColgan Professor of Religion (1990)

Virginia F. Wray

Associate Professor of English (1991)

Scott Peterson

Willie D. Bryan Associate Professor of Biology (1992)

Thomas E. Cooper

Anne J. Stewart Associate Professor of Economics (1993)

George Chlebak

1

Professor of Art (1994)

Bart L. Lewis

J. William Fulbright Professor of Modern Languages (1995)

John Dahlquist

Professor of History (1996)

James L. Rulla

Associate Professor of Mathematics (1997)

Andrea Hollander Budy

Visiting Assistant Professor of English (1998)

Russell T. Stinson

Josephine E. Brown Professor of Music (1999)

Teresa B. Murphy

Assistant Professor of Education (2000)

Cassie L. Creighton

Associate Professor of Accounting (2001)

Barrie Bondurant

Associate Professor of Psychology (2002)

Alan H. McNamee

Frank and Marion Bradley Lyon Professor of Accounting (2003)

Robert G. Gregerson

Willie Dillard Bryan Associate Professor of Biology (2004)

Scott M. Roulier

Associate Professor of Political Science (2005)

Frank L. Winfrey

Clark N. and Mary Perkins Barton Professor of Management (2006)

David J. Thomas

Associate Professor of Biology (2007)

Tim Lindblom

Associate Professor of Biology (2008)

Paul Bube

W. Lewis McColgan Professor of Religion (2009)

Martha Beck

Professor of Philosophy (2010)

David Pace

Associate Professor of Chemistry (2011)

Catherine Bordeau

Associate Professor of French (2012)

Patrick Mulick

Associate Professor of Psychology (2013)

Mark Schram

Associate Professor of Biology (2014)

Anthony Grafton

Professor of Chemistry (2015)

Jeremy Chapman

Associate Professor of Mathematics (2016)

Bradley Gitz

William Jefferson Clinton Professor of International Politics (2017)

Nikki Yonts

Assistant Professor of Psychology/Education (2018)

Wesley Beal

Associate Professor of English (2019)

Cassia Oliveira

Associate Professor of Biology (2020)

Dustyn Bork

Professor of Art (2021)

Tharanga Wijetunge

Professor of Mathematics (2022)

Lyon 2024-25 Catalog